What I Know About Technology- Mostly Cameras

I can deal with most technological problems that come my way.  It’s kind of my role in my household.  I get lots of questions like “Nikki, how do you order things on-line?” “Nikki, how do I download this song?” “Nikki, can you install this printer?” and “Nikki, how do I run this old Windows ’95 program?”  Yet what I know about technology I learned through a lot of trial, error, and just plain fiddling.  I would in no way, shape, or form consider myself a tech expert.

Yet, there’s one little bit of technology that I absolutely love.  I’ve found it to be an essential tool to my artwork.  My digital camera.

In  grade 10, I realized that the wimpy little not-even-a-mega-pixel-of-resolution camera I owned was not meeting my needs, and that it would be a good investment for an art student to have a better way to capture the world around them for later use.  After some searching, I went out and bought a 4 mega-pixel HP Photosmart camera.  (no, not a great camera, but a far cry from what I had been working with).  I picked up various photo editing systems quickly (unfortunately, I’ve never had the chance to work with Adobe Photoshop 😦 , however I’ve gone through Adobe Photoshop walk-through’s using equivalent functions on my Corel system).

My digital camera was a great deal of help in my Concentration project for the AP Art class.  I took photos of the people I interviewed for the project so that I wouldn’t have to draw them on the spot.  I also was able to take photographs of the work I did and create a website for my art.

On top of that, I used it for projects throughout high-school in practically every class.  For example, this is one of the pictures that I took, later edited and added to a magazine article I was creating on vegetarian ettiquitte.BroccoliBroccoli

Broccoli

BroccoliBroccoli

One response

  1. I share your passion of digital photography and while I know I”m all that great, I’m learning. Part of what’s so cool is I can learn from others. I use flickr not only to post and share my photos but to be part of community of others learning together. This year I am trying to take a photo a day along with many others around the world. It’s cool that even from that little project, I’m learning lots.

    http://flickr.com/groups/366photos/pool/

    Look forward to seeing some of your work.

    January 15, 2008 at 9:39 pm

Leave a Reply

