3 + 3 = 7?

I’m sorry, but my EPS textbook has really ticked me off right now, and I’m fighting the urge to go to class, stand on the table, chuck the book at the ground, and scream “hypocrisy!”  Don’t worry, I’ve restrained the revolutionary within me enough to try to bring up my concerns in a more polite and self-controlled manner within my reading response, but I really felt the need to bring up an idea I see as important within education.

Let me start with a little story, and I’ll explain how this all ties together after.  In grade seven, I had a math teacher who would from time to time throw out the wrong answer intentionally, and we would have to correct him.  Not only did this force us to pay closer attention, but it taught us to question what we learn, and not take truth for granted.  It taught us to be involved learners.

A teacher can’t be right 100% of the time, and we have to accept that.  Therefore, involved, communal learning is integral.  A teacher can’t feel hurt if a student corrects them- we need to be able to admit to our imperfections, and allow ourselves to grow to accept other truths.  This process of involved learning also builds confidence and self-motivation within a student, which are great life skills.

I am finding the EPS text to contain a lot of hypocrisies, such as stating that teaching must be approached in a manner that accommodates the diverse needs of it’s students, and then clearly biasing its information towards elementary school teachers.  Another example would be how it talks about being accommodating of the diverse worldviews of students, and then turns around and presents only one view of an argument (on 318, it states that public school development is purely a political issue, and doesn’t offer any alternative).  I felt compelled to (within reason) challenge the info this textbook is presenting me, and I really hope my debate group will feel the same.  Yet, I have a feeling that most people within EPS won’t want to point out disputes they have with the information they are presented for fear it will affect their grades.

It’s kind of intimidating, approaching a teacher about a personal dispute with curriculum, and I think we need to create a system that eliminates some of this intimidation.  Students should never be punished for taking an involved stance on learning.

3 responses

  1. Brianne Pister

    Hey Nicole! I completely agree with our latest blog. Reading that text book can be agonizing. It feel as though they are trying to mold us all into the same shape, which can be frustrating. My biggest issue is how they told us one our respinsibilities is to guide children to their “meaning in life”. HA I don’t even know my own meaning in life, how in the worrd am i supposed to help someone else?

    January 23, 2008 at 6:40 pm

  2. Brittany E Ward

    Hey Nicole,
    I can totally understand where you are coming from. I think that it is said out loud that we should accept different views and allow students to express their own feelings on the issue but all the actions and examples we are shown we are actually being taught to hold our opinion as the one that matters most and will make the most difference. I personally believe are ideas are allowed to change and that nothing is written in stone and that throughout our careers as educators students will (I HOPE!) give us a new way of looking at things, or make us think of things we never thought of before. I am really glad to know there are other educators out there willing to embrace changes in ideas and thoughts.

    February 5, 2008 at 3:19 am

  3. shelbywilk

    Oh my this is sooooooo true. I had this class last term and I remember telling others that the text drives me insane. My biggest issue with the text is the organization of it all. IT DRIVES ME CRAZY! I also agree with your statement that they to say our job is to give the students their worldview when they try to give us ours.. like brianne said to “mold”.

    February 26, 2008 at 6:27 am

Leave a Reply

