Garbage Art!

I use the term garbage art not as an insult, but in a most endearing way.  You can call it recycled art if that makes you feel better.  I love making things out of found materials, and knowing that I prevented the materials I used from ending up in some dumpster.  After reading a blog post by Katherine Moore, I felt so inclined to share some of my garbage art!

the Dragon Book

One day my art teacher came in with a stack of old books.  She told us to choose one, and turn it into art.  Since my book was called Dragonsdawn, I decided to turn it into a dragon, stealing inspiration from Harry Potter’s the Monster Book of Monsters, and one of my favourite movies as a kid, the PagemasterThe scales are from pop cans, the map the book is standing on, as well as the maps on his wings were once inside of him, his toungue is cut out of his title page, and the teeth and claws are used art razors (which, of course, one must be cautious holding).

Garbage art is a great activity for highschool and elementary art teachers.  On top of being really amusing, and environmentally friendly, it’s nice on the school budget, and teaches kids to look for inspiring materials all around them.

I would love it if anyone reading this would post a picture of their own garbage art with a little story on their blog, and link to the page in a comment here.  If this post could turn into a resource of examples for garbage art projects, that would be just awesome!  Or, if you have never made garbage art, get out there and make some, and tell us about the experience!

Happy trash hunting!

4 responses

  1. That’s such a cool book! I’m inspired to make some of my own garbage art. =] Thanks for sharing.

    Jane
    http://mywoodenrobot.org

    March 23, 2008 at 9:55 pm

  2. Tera

    Hey Nicole, nice book very creative! It reminds me of those screamer letters in Harry Potter. Imagine having your class create a series of scary books or envelope covers and writing or recording notes inside to important historical or political leaders about their actions and why they think they were injust. This project would be artistic, cheap, cultural, historical. I think it would fit with all the elements we talk about in our EAES class. Thanks for posting!!

    March 24, 2008 at 9:04 pm

  3. katherinemoore

    I’m glad that you showed off your garbage art cause it is really cool. All day today I have been debating if I have enough time to make some garbage art cause it looks so cool.But I don’t have enought time to day so I’m hoping thay maybe this weekend I will make some. If I do I will be sure to post a picture of it!

    March 25, 2008 at 9:09 pm

  4. sarinapaluck

    hey…
    That actually looks pretty cool and fun. I’ve never been one for garbage art, but I think I might just have to incorporate it into my classroom… and hey it would be great for the kids and easy on the budget too 😉 thanks for changing my mind about garbage art!

    April 9, 2008 at 3:00 am

Leave a Reply

