Being a Blog Mentor

This semester, I mentored two classroom blogs- Lisa Parisi’s Grade 5 class blog, and Erin Remple’s Pre Calculus blog.

I began by mentoring the grade five students. Their entries were very interesting to read, and proved to be a wonderful way for students to prove what they learned. For example, one of the assignmetnsthey were given was to demonstrate their knowledge of a unit of their choice.

However, these students rarely seemed to make any response to my comments, despite the efforts I made to ask for a response. It was rather disappointing. There was, however, one girl who did take my advice in her future blog entries. I had commented on her entry on her pet rabbit, saying that she should add more anecdotes about her pet. Sure enough, she later added a second story about her rabbit chewing on wires. I made sure to thank her for this addition, so that she knew I had noticed.

I had been nervous about posting on the calculus blog. The first time I came to it, I just felt really intimidated, and didn’t know what to comment on. I have taken calculus, but I’ve let most of my math knowledge seep out of my head in the past year or so. So, I got in contact with the teacher, and she helped to reassure me, and set me on the right track with my comments. I began to feel that commenting on this blog was even more interesting than commenting on the fifth grade blog. It was like a brain puzzle, where i had to figure out just what would help to improve each post. Towards the end of the semester, I thought I had become quite good at leaving comments, such as this one. I think they read my constructive criticisms, and built upon them, but they didn’t really leave any responses either. Unfortunately, for the past three weeks or so, there haven’t been any new posts on this blog, and I fear they may have abandoned their math scribing.

Overall, mentoring was a very constructive experience. If I took anything from it, I think it would be that if a teacher is going to implement blogs, they must stress to the students the importance of interaction, and responding to the comments they receive. After all, that’s what makes it a social learning process.

Leave a Reply

