Making a Difference, and Growing Smarter to Boot!

 Help end world hunger 

A friend ran across this site while searching for on-line games, and told me to check it out.  So I did, and upon playing for a bit, I realized that this was something that needed to be shared.  It’s a website called Free Rice, where you can play their on-line vocabulary-boosting game, and help to donate rice to poverty-stricken countries.  The money for the rice comes from the advertisements and sponsorships that are listed at the bottom of the page when you get a word correct.  So, in those few moments when you just want to waste time relaxing and playing on-line games after a hard day, you can actually be accomplishing something useful in this world.

Why stop at playing alone in your spare time?  For my fellow future educators, this could be a great classroom resource.  It’s a vocabulary exercise, and a social studies lesson all integrated into one.  It’s a way to let students feel like they really can make a difference in this world as an individual.  We have to remind students of this sometimes, especially when we start discussing some of the more dark and depressing facets of social studies.  Also, why not create a classroom-wide competition?  Small prizes could be awarded for students who obtain the highest vocabulary levels, or the most grains of rice.  Or the class could do a little statistics work, and create a classroom goal, such as feeding a certain number of people in one day when you add up the total rice earned by each student.  This could even be done at a school-wide level if one was very ambitious.

I should also point out that this game has levels for everyone.  All age groups should be able to play.

Please, take a look, play for awhile, and pass this website on.

4 responses

  1. lindsaypolowich

    Nicole,
    I was so happy to have comments on my post! your comment was so useful and helpful…I had just thrown it up with the intention of editing it later…i had no idea the writing wasn’t even showing up! but I definaly appreciate the great pointers. sometimes with writing, it is hard to notice your own mistakes and when things are not clear. I will be going back and re-looking at your suggestions!

    as for your post about the free rice…how crazy is that! I totally agree that this is a great classroom activity…especially since it sounds fun, and the more people you get doign it, the more gets donated. I am just about to check it out on my own, but in the meantime, how do you know that it is a valid game? and where the money is going to? either way, it is still an educational experience, and that is valuable enough on its own. Keep on blogging!

    May 20, 2008 at 12:34 am

  2. Hi, Lindsay!
    You’re welcome for the poetry advice, and posting your writing online was a great use of your blog as a means of furthuring learning.
    Just a note on whether or not the game is legit- check out some of the other pages on the site (which you’ve probably done already by now) such as the FAQ, the press comments, and the clips of the rice being distributed. I was leery at first, too, and had to do some reading on the page before I would endorse it. I suppose, if in the end, it was an elabourate scam, it is still an educational game.

    May 20, 2008 at 10:30 am

  3. cool idea i think i will try that

    May 30, 2008 at 12:33 pm

  4. Pretty awesome that you would mention this- FreeRice is one of my favourite games! As a highschool student, I hook my friends in by challenging them to battles of vocabulary during the more boring times in class (shh, don’t tell!). Now if I can only make my teachers see it as a worthwhile teaching tool…

    June 25, 2008 at 10:14 am

Leave a Reply

